Welcome to the library's research guide for Accounting. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
- CQ Researcher
Current events/issues coverage includes overviews, historical background, chronologies, pro/con features, and more
- Credo (multidisciplinary)
Content from over 600 subject encyclopedias and related works; by Credo Reference
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (multidisciplinary)
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Current social issue topic overviews, including pro/con viewpoint essays, academic journal and news/magazine articles, primary sources, images, videos, and interactive data maps
- Very Short Introductions (multidisciplinary)
Overviews of diverse subjects, including Ancient Warfare, Climate, Consciousness, Economics, Game Theory, Islamic History, Literary Theory, Privacy, and more from Oxford Univ. Press
Full text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica and Merriam-Webster Dictionary; includes video and audio clips
- Oxford English Dictionary
Landmark historical resource that defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from earliest known occurrence to present
- Dictionaries and Quick Facts
Dictionaries, thesauri, translators, almanacs, encyclopedias, fact books, and directories
- Resources for Statistics
Find statistical data from government websites and other recommended sources
Databases you may want to use for beginning your research. Please see Articles & More tab for additional databases.
- Accounting & Tax
Selected full text for accounting policies and standards, state and national tax legislation, corporate and individual taxation, corporate financial management, and profiles of accountants and firms
- LexisNexis Academic (multidisciplinary)
Select Accounting from "Search By Content Type" options.
- Business Insights: Global
Includes case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry.
- Wall Street Journal
(1982- ) Full text of the Eastern edition.
- Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
(1889-1997) Full text of the Eastern edition.
Tax and accounting research tool that includes Federal Tax Coordinator and U.S. Tax Reporter; AICPA Professional Standards, Technical Practice Aids, Audit and Accounting Guides; PPC Tax Deskbooks; BNA Daily Tax Report®, West Employee Benefits Cases and more. Available on-campus, no remote access.
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
tax exempt or tax free
business* or firm*
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
company and merger
Find less with NOT:
bank fraud not embezzlement
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Online help resources:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.
Please email me if I can help you! For immediate assistance, see ASK A LIBRARIAN options.Send Email