Resources for research in art and design.
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2013
Welcome to the library's research guide for Art. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Some rights reserved by habermann 1
If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
- Art Source
For peer-reviewed articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins on advertising art, architecture and architectural history, art history, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, motion pictures, art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, video, etc.
- Humanities Source
Find articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, art and photography, folklore and history, journalism and communications, language and literature, literary and political criticism, music and performing arts, philosophy, and religion and theology.
- Art Full Text
(1997-) Selected full text to world-wide literature in advertising art, architecture and architectural history, art history, folk art, graphic arts, industrial and interior design, motion pictures, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, video, etc. Yearbooks and museum bulletins are also included.
- Humanities Full Text
(1984 - ) Selected full text.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Resources by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- Services for Faculty
- Forms for Students
Includes article and book request forms (for when you need something that we don't own or that isn't requestable in the Library Catalog) plus forms for scheduling a research consultation, making a comment or suggestion, and more.
- Forms for UHCL Pearland Campus Students
- Forms for Distance Education and Online Students
- FAQ Pearland Campus Library