Astronomy: Articles & Journals

Find Articles in Research Databases

If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.

One Search

Search most databases at once

 

Advanced Search

Sample searches:
   "sun" AND "earth"
   (comet OR meteorite) AND (astronom* OR planet*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Loading

Get Full Text for an Article

Image of sidebar with instructions:  If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL to check for full text from another source. If full text fails to load, expand the Find It @ UHCL Neumann Library sidebar on the right of the screen for more options, including links to submit an article request or chat with a librarian.

Find out if the library has a journal

When you already have a citation to an article or want to know whether the library has a specific journal, search here for the journal title.

 

Locating Print Journals

Library floor plans

  • Current issues are shelved in alphabetical order in the Current Periodicals area (main floor)
  • Bound journals are shelved like books, in call number order in the General Stacks

What is Peer Review?

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to its acceptance for publication.

Note: Peer-reviewed journals may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles.

Video Tutorials

View at 1280x960 or higher; some require Adobe Flash Player.

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic:

281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library