Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Home
 " page of the "Computer Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Engineering   Tags: computer engineering, computer science  

Uesful resources for research in Computer Engineering
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/CENG Print Guide RSS Updates

Home   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's research guide for Computer Engineering. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

 

Can't Connect?

If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

 

ID & Barcode Basics

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials. Don't have your ID card yet? Present a copy of your fee slip and a photo ID for a first-time exception.

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.

Key Resources for Computer Engineering

Begin your research with articles and electronic books from these databases.
Find more under the tabs above.

  • ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)  
      
      Icon
    Selected full text for ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library  
      
      Icon
    (1950- ) Selected full text of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Institution of Engineering and Technology journals, and active IEEE standards.
  • INSPEC  Icon
    (1969 - ) IEE's (Institution of Electrical Engineers) selected full text to the world's scientific and technical information.
  • Ebrary (multidisciplinary)  
      
    Ebrary Academic Complete includes electronic books and maps of academic interest. Covers business, economics, computers, humanities, life & physical sciences, social & behavioral sciences, and technology.
 

graphics

General Resources

Find articles, books and more with OneSearch



Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

  • Library Catalog  
      
    Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
  • Databases A-Z
    A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
  • Research Guides by Subject
    Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
  • Journals List UHCL  Icon
    Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.

Getting Started

View at 1280x960 or higher; requires Adobe Flash Player. Use headphones, or turn on speakers to hear audio. To end the video at any time, press the Rewind button in the playback controls.

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic:

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*     [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training

Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

Online help resources:

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Berrish
Contact Info
Questions, comments, and suggestions are welcome!

281-283-3919
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

 

Please Give Us Your Opinion




Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider Privacy
UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus pargo1.uhcl.edu
281-283-3910   library@uhcl.edu    UHCL Neumann Library   UHCL Pearland Campus Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip