Welcome
Welcome to the library's research guide for Communication. We hope it will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

ID & Barcode Basics
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
Library Services for...
School of Human Sciences and Humanities
Key Resources for Communication
If you're not sure where to begin or can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian for advice on the best resources for your needs.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Selected full text for over 500 key journals in the field of Communication. - Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with selected full text for more than 9,300 journals. - LexisNexis Academic
Provides a wide range of mostly full text news, business, legal and government sources. - More...
Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline* [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training
Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
General Resources

Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library. - Databases A-ZA complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Resources by SubjectFind recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info Please email me whenever I can help. To reach a librarian as soon as possible, use "Ask a Librarian." Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Online Help Resources
- How-To Guides(for library databases and resources)
- Library Research Video Tutorials
- Research Tips
- FAQ
- FAQ Pearland Campus Library




Loading...
