Search Tips and Sample SearchesVideo Tutorials (Using PsycINFO's APA Thesaurus... and more)
Research Methods
Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Home
 " page of the "Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Counseling   Tags: career counseling, counseling, tests & measures  

Library resources for research and study in Counseling
Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/COUN Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's research guide for Counseling. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

AttributionNoncommercial Some rights reserved by itspaulkelly

 

ID & Barcode Basics

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).

School of Education

Key Resources for Counseling

If you're not sure where to begin or can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian for advice on the best resources for your needs.

  • PsycINFO  Icon
    (1806- ) American Psychological Association (APA) content has selected full text for articles from more than 2,400 journals, as well as books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
  • Education Research Complete  Icon
    (1865- ) Selected full text for over 2,100 journals; also includes some full text book chapters.
  • More databases...
  • PsycTESTS  Icon
    Full text instruments now available in PsycTESTS database; see Tests & Measures page
 

Dictionary Word or Entry of the Week

wisdom:  "The ability to make effective choices among alternatives."

Wisdom. (2011). In S. T. Gladding, The counseling dictionary: Concise definitions of frequently used terms (3rd ed., p. 163). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education. Reference BF637 .C6 G5332 2011

Note: New entries will resume on June 3.

 

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*     [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training

Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

General Resources

Find articles, books and more with OneSearch


Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

  • Library Catalog  
      
    Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
  • Journals List  Icon
    Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
  • Databases A-Z
    A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
  • Resources by Subject
    Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Steele
Contact Info
Please email me whenever I can be of help! To reach a librarian as soon as possible, see Ask a Librarian options.
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Online Help Resources

 

Please Give Us Your Opinion




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip