Useful resources for research in Early Childhood Education
Last Updated: May 14, 2013
Welcome to the library's research guide for Early Childhood Education. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. We hope to hear from you!
Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example:2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
Do you know of a resource that should be added to this guide? Do you have a question? Please let us know.
- Education Research Complete
Offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The Educational Resources Information Center, provides more than 1 million abstracts of documents (some available in fulltext) and journal articles (some available in fulltext in the EBSCO version) on education research and practice.
- Education Full Text
Provides citations, abstracts (1994 -present ) and selected fulltext (1996 -present ) for more than 500 English-language periodicals (200 in fulltext) and yearbooks. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Updated monthly.
- Library Catalog Advanced Keyword Search
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Provides descriptive and bibliographic information about books, video recordings, and sound recordings for children and young adults.
- Journals List
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Forms for Students
Includes article and book request forms (for when you need something that we don't own or that isn't requestable in the Library Catalog) plus forms for scheduling a research consultation, making a comment or suggestion, and more.
- Services for Faculty