Places to start for research in environmental science.
Last Updated: May 21, 2013
Welcome to the library's research guide for Environmental Science. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
- Academic Search Complete
Search peer-reviewed journals, books, conference proceedings, etc. on a variety of topics, including air pollution, environmental chemistry, and environmental risk assessment.
- Web of Science
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®. Indexes more than 9,000 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. Selected full text via ArticleLinker.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases.
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
Find overviews or introductions to a subject in encyclopedias and
some specialized dictionaries and handbooks. Reference works may help
you put into context a narrow topic on which you're working or help you
identify possible directions for a topic you're exploring. They'll also
help you identify facts, names, dates, etc.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search or browse encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks. Search for a keyword or topic in the "document title" to find entries entirely on that topic.
- Britannica Online
Academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica Online. Full text entries accompanied by video clips, images, audio, related websites, and more. Includes timelines, a world atlas, and Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
Electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and society's interactions.
- Dictionaries and Quick Facts
More dictionaries plus thesauri, translators, almanacs, encyclopedias, fact books, and directories.
- Resources for Statistics
Find statistical data from government websites and other recommended sources.