Helpful resources for study and research in Public Service Leadership.
Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013
Welcome to the library's research guide for Public Service Leadership. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials. Don't have your ID card yet? Present a copy of your fee slip and a photo ID for a first-time exception.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
- Academic Search Complete
Fields covered include archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and women's studies. Coverage dates from the 1800's and varies by journal. Updated daily.
- Business Source Complete
Full text is offered for over 3,160 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. PDF guide available.
- Business Insights: Global
Includes case studies, statistical data sources, trends, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
Journal coverage starts in 1887 and includes more than 2,400 journals in over 25 languages. Linked full text or image is provided for hundreds of journals with varying dates of coverage. Book coverage is English-language-only.
- Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
This database covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
company or corporation
standard* or principle*
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
banks and deregulate
Find less with NOT:
trust not charitable
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Resources by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
Please email me if I can help you! For immediate assistance, see ASK A LIBRARIAN options.Send Email