Library resources for research and study in Geography
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
For a complete list of library research databases, see Databases A-Z.
- Environment Complete
Coverage in journals and monographs includes agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, pollution, and affiliated areas of study.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
(1800's- ) Multidisciplinary; selected full text for approximately 12,500 journals.
- ScienceDirect (multidisciplinary)
Source for scientific, technical, and medical full text research.
Indexes all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles with limited full text.
- Web of Science (multidisciplinary)
(1984- ) Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science Citation Indexes.
- Environment Abstracts
Contains abstracts for articles, papers, or reports containing critical, current information on all aspects of the impact of humankind and technology on the environment. Fulltext of selected documents (1980 -present) are also available in UHCL Envirofiche Collection (microfiche area GF1 .E55).
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.