Background Information on a TopicDissertations and Theses
United StatesEuropeLatin AmericaEast AsiaSouth AsiaMiddle EastAfrica
Search Tips and Sample SearchesVideo Tutorials
Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Home
 " page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History   Tags: history  

Resources for researching topics in history
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/HIST Print Guide RSS Updates

Home   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's research guide for History. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We wish you well in your studies and hope to hear from you!

Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
war or wars or battle*
[finds war, wars, battle, or battles]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
vietnam and nurse

Find less with NOT:
renaissance not harlem

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

      
     

    ID & Barcode Basics

    Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.

    Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).

    Key Resources for History

    • America: History and Life
      Provides English-language abstracts to more than 2400 journals and full text links to selected journals from the JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collection I. Coverage includes the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
    • JSTOR
      Provides access to the fulltext of scholarly journal back files, usually from the first issue to 2-5 years ago. Coverage includes 117 journal titles in humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics.
    • Historical Abstracts With Full Text
      Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Provides indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, as well as access to the full text of more than 349 journals.
    • World History Collection
      Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text for more than 130 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals.
    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

    General Resources

    Find articles, books and more with OneSearch



    Sample search:
    "critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
    Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

    • Library Catalog  
        
      Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
    • Databases A-Z
      A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
    • Research Guides by Subject
      Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
    • Journals List UHCL  Icon
      Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.

    Reference & Instruction Librarian

    Profile Image
    Casey Roberson
     

    Chat with a Librarian

     

    Please Give Us Your Opinion




    Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider Privacy
    UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus pargo1.uhcl.edu
    281-283-3910   library@uhcl.edu    UHCL Neumann Library   UHCL Pearland Campus Library
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip