Video Tutorials
Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Getting
Started" page of the "Mathematical Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematical Sciences   Tags: math, mathematics, statistics  

Resources for research in mathematics and statistics.
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/MATH Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's research guide for Mathematics and Statistics. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

Happy Pi Day (to the 69th digit)!
Attribution Some rights reserved by Mykl Roventine

 

Can't Connect?

If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

 

Please Give Us Your Opinion




Key Resources for Mathematical Sciences

  • JSTOR
    Includes full text of complete backfiles of selected Mathematics and Statistical Science journals.
  • Project Euclid (Mathematics & Statistics)
    Full text access to approximately 40 independent and society journals in the field of theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics.
  • MathSciNet
    Access to a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.
 

OneSearch

Find articles, books and more with OneSearch



Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

 

Library Barcode Basics

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card.

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*     [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training

Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

Online help resources:

General Resources

Find articles, books and more with OneSearch



Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

  • Library Catalog  
      
    Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
  • Databases A-Z
    A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
  • Research Guides by Subject
    Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
  • Journals List UHCL  Icon
    Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Amanda Ros
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider Privacy
UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus pargo1.uhcl.edu
281-283-3910   library@uhcl.edu    UHCL Neumann Library   UHCL Pearland Campus Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip