Useful resources for research in Nursing.
This Nursing research guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
(1937 - ) Selected full text of nursing and allied health journals. Includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions, and outline the most effective treatment options.
- Nursing Full Text Plus
Ovid nursing database from Wolters Kluwer
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
(1965 - ) National Library of Medicine indexing with full text for over 1,470 biomedical journals and other medical sciences literature.
- Nursing Resource Center
Overviews on diseases, drug information, and a resource for students preparing to take the NCLEX-PN or the NCLEX-RN exam.
- Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos with head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. Useful for students and faculty in nursing and medical programs.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and allied health professions.
- Health & Society in Video
Streaming documentaries focused on health issues and their impact on society. Covers topics such as pediatric AIDS, the Obama administration’s healthcare plan, addiction, hospice care, Alzheimer’s disease, organ donation, malnutrition, and more.
- Health Reference Center - Academic
(1980- ) Selected full text to general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and topical reviews.
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.