Resources for research in political science.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014
Welcome to the library's research guide for Political Science. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Some rights reserved by doc_otto
This guide is based a guide created by UHCL librarian, Karen Berrish.
If you're not sure where to begin or can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian for advice on the best resources for your needs.
- CQ Researcher
Information about current events including overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and more.
- CQ Weekly
Issues under discussion in the U.S. Congress, including summary of week's new, status of bill, and committee and floor activity.
- CQ Almanac
Original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that U.S. lawmakers considered during a congressional session. 1945 - 2012.
- ProQuest Congressional
Selected full text; library also has selected full text in microfiche.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
(1800's- ) Selected full text journals with some books, reports, conference proceedings, historical documents, etc.
- LexisNexis Academic (multidisciplinary)
Primarily full text.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- FAQ Pearland Campus Library