Resources for studies in language and culture
Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013
Welcome to the library's research guide for Multicultural Studies. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Your library barcode is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*
[finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training
Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Online help resources:
- Education Research Complete
Offers the world’s largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. Also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The Education Resources Information Center, provides more than 1 million abstracts of documents (some available in fulltext) and journal articles (some available in fulltext in the EBSCO version) on education research and practice.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere plus the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
Provides access to the fulltext of scholarly journal back files, usually from the first issue to 2 - 5 years ago. Coverage includes 117 journal titles in humanities, social sciences, statistics, and mathematics; and 29 titles in ecology and botany.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Fields covered include archaeology, area studies, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and many others.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Resources by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject pages or guides (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- Forms for Students
Includes article and book request forms (for when you need something that we don't own or that isn't requestable in the Library Catalog) plus forms for scheduling a research consultation, making a comment or suggestion, and more.
- Forms for UHCL Pearland Campus Students
- Forms for Distance Education and Online Students
- FAQ Pearland Campus Library