Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Getting
Started" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology   Tags: society, sociology  

Library resources for research and study in Sociology
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/SOCI Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

If you're not sure where to begin your research in Sociology, this page will get you started. Use the other tabs to find the wealth of information in your discipline provided by the library.  If you'd like to talk to an expert in searching the literature, make an appointment with a librarian or just drop in.   Embracing by Masaru Takiguchi

To find the library, look for this sculpture.

 

Can't Connect?

If you are on campus using the university wireless network, you must log on to the UHCLPrivate network. Databases are not accessible from the UHCLPublic network.

If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

 

ID & Barcode Basics

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).

School of Human Sciences and Humanities

To Familiarize Yourself with a Topic ...

Peer-reviewed articles in scholarly journals may assume a level of knowledge that students don't have.  Before plunging into the articles, you may want to read up on your topic in one of these sources.

Key Resources for Sociology

Try these two important resources for peer-reviewed articles. As prospective sociologists, your research may span many disciplines. Be sure to consult the Articles and Journals tab for more databases, and to find tips on searching multidisciplinary topics.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text  
      
      Icon
    Ebsco database that provides abstracts of books, journals, and conference papers, with full-text of many, but not all.
  • Sociology: SAGE Journals
    Only 36 journals covered, but the complete full-text is available on all articles. Sage is an important publisher in your discipline.

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*     [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training

Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

Video Tutorials

View at 1280x960 or higher; most require Adobe Flash Player. Use headphones, or turn on speakers to hear audio. To end the video at any time, press the Rewind button in the playback controls.

Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic:

Subject Librarian - Sociology

Profile Image
Martha Steele
Contact Info
281-283-3912
Send Email
Subjects:
Sociology
 

Chat with a Librarian

Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider Privacy
UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus pargo1.uhcl.edu
281-283-3910   library@uhcl.edu    UHCL Neumann Library   UHCL Pearland Campus Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip