Search Tips and Sample SearchesVideo Tutorials
Research Methods
Avoiding PlagiarismLiterature ReviewsAnnotated Bibliographies
This is the "Home
 " page of the "Social Work" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Work   Tags: social work, tests & measures  

Library resources for research and study in Social Work
Last Updated: May 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/SWRK Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's research guide for Social Work. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

 

Dictionary Word or Entry of the Week

meta-analysis:  "The assessment of the outcome of a study by systematically reviewing the findings across similar studies."

Meta-analysis. (2003). In R. L. Barker, The social work dictionary (5th ed., p. 271). Washington, DC: NASW Press. Reference HV 12 .B37 2003

Note: New entries will resume on June 3.

 

 

ID & Barcode Basics

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).

School of Human Sciences and Humanities

Key Databases for Social Work

If you're not sure where to begin or can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

  • Social Work Abstracts  Icon
    (1960- ) Selected full text for over 500 social work and human services journals.
  • Social Services Abstracts  Icon
    (1975- ) Provides abstracts for articles in over 1,300 journals. Use "check for possible full text" links to determine whether article is available from another source.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  Icon
    (1880- ) Selected fulltext for over 800 journals in sociology and related fields, including social work, plus books, book chapters, and conference papers.
  • More databases...
  • PsycTESTS  Icon
    Full text instruments now available in PsycTESTS database; see Tests & Measures page
 

NASW Encyclopedia of Social Work Online

For when you need an overview or background information on a topic or person important to the field of social work...

 

Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases

Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline*     [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]

Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training

Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles

Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).

General Resources

Find articles, books and more with OneSearch


Sample search:
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Susan Steele
Contact Info
Please email me whenever I can be of help! To reach a librarian as soon as possible, see Ask a Librarian options.
Send Email
 

Chat with a Librarian

Online Help Resources

 

Please Give Us Your Opinion




Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip