Social Work: Articles & Journals

Library resources for research and study in Social Work

Find Articles in Research Databases

Depending on your topic, these databases may be relevant. If needed, more choices are in Databases A-Z.

One Search

Search most databases at once

 

Advanced Search

Sample searches:
   "social work" AND "evidence based practice"
   "social worker*" AND burnout
   ("child abuse" OR "child neglect") AND (prevent* OR interven*)
Select filters (articles from scholarly publications, date, etc.) on results screen

While it doesn't offer some of the sophisticated options available in research databases, Google Scholar can be helpful. See instructions for customizing Google Scholar to provide Full Text @ UHCL links in results.

A peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal:

  • uses experts from the same subject field or profession as the author to evaluate a manuscript prior to acceptance for publication
  • has articles that report on research studies or provide scholarly analysis of topics
  • may include book reviews, editorials, or other brief items that are not considered scholarly articles
Peer Review in 3 Minutes

(3:15) Explains the academic publishing process for research articles and scholarly journals, including the quality control process of peer review. North Carolina State Univ. Libraries

Loading

Get Full Text for an Article

Image of sidebar with instructions:  If a database lacks immediate full text, click Find It @ UHCL to check for full text from another source. If full text fails to load, expand the Find It @ UHCL Neumann Library sidebar on the right of the screen for more options, including links to submit an article request or chat with a librarian.

Find Out if the Library Has a Specific Journal

                        List of general social welfare & social work journals

 

Get an Article from a Citation

Sample citation:
Fern, E. (2012). Developing social work practice through engaging practitioners in action research. Qualitative Social Work, 11, 156-173. doi:10.1177/1473325010387672

Use OneSearch to look for a DOI (digital object identifier). If there's no DOI, search for an "exact phrase" from the article title. Add an author name if needed. Examples:

  • doi:10.1177/1473325010387672
  • "developing social work practice through engaging"
  • "developing social work practice through engaging" AND fern
One Search

Search most databases at once

 


If an article isn't available online, submit an article request.

Locating Print Journals (optional)

Library floor plans

  • Current issues are shelved in alphabetical order in the Current Periodicals area (main floor)
  • Bound journals are shelved like books, in call number order in the General Stacks

Find call numbers for bound journals in the Library Catalog.

281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library