Resources for teacher education & curriculum & instruction
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Education Source
(1900- ) Selected full text for over 4,000 journals, with some full text books and conference papers.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The Education Resources Information Center, provides more than 1 million abstracts of documents (some available in fulltext) and journal articles (some available in fulltext in the EBSCO version) on education research and practice.
- Education Full Text
Provides citations, abstracts (1994 -present ) and selected fulltext (1996 -present ) for more than 500 English-language periodicals (200 in fulltext) and yearbooks. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
- Education: SAGE Journals
Includes the full text of 27 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 40 years, and encompasses over 8,000 articles.
- Professional Development Collection (Education)
Aimed primarily at professional educators and others interested in the field of education. Information on everything from child development to practices of different teaching methods. Includes full text from 440 journals (150 with images), and abstract and index coverage for 530 professional development titles.
- Web of Science (multidisciplinary)
Searches Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Science Citation Index. Cited reference searching is available, to navigate backward or forward in time to uncover the research that influenced an author's work or the impact a paper or other published item has had on current research.
- SAGE Research Methods & Cases
Includes Little Green and Little Blue Books, articles, videos, and more on research methodology, along with case studies that have learning outcomes and discussion questions