UHCL Archives: Access & Guidelines

Reference Services

  • Reference requests may be submitted by email (preferred; archives@uhcl.edu), telephone (281-283-3936 or 281-283-3933), or in person (appointment highly recommended).
  • UHCL Archives staff will make every effort to acknowledge remote reference requests within one business day; actual reference request turnaround time varies depending on the scope of inquiry and Archives workload; no rush requests please.
  • Document scanning requests of more than 50 pages may be sent off-site requiring additional time; photograph scanning requests are handled on a case by case basis and may require additional time.
  • Any reference request that requires research assistance beyond one hour of staff time will require a proxy researcher.
  • Archives staff cannot perform extended research, interpret information nor provide appraisal of books, artifacts, manuscripts, or other material.

Guidelines For Using Materials In The Archives

 

USE OF THE READING ROOM

  • All patrons must complete a research registration form and sign the visitor’s log daily.
  • Food, drink, gum, and tobacco products are not permitted in the Archives.
  • Use of cellular phones is not permitted – please take calls outside of the reading room.
  • Any personal belongings not essential to research must be stored in the designated location. Researchers may use loose paper, index cards, or mobile computing devices (cases must be stored) for taking notes. Photographic equipment may be used on a case by case basis.

 

USE OF MATERIALS

  • Only pencils may be used. Do not mark, fold, lean on or mutilate documents in any way.
  • Only one box may be on the study table at a time and only one folder may be removed from the box at a time. Keep all material in the order in which you receive it.
  • Photocopying is permitted unless the item is fragile, exceptionally valuable, or too large and limited to single copies for the patron’s reference use only. Photocopying decisions will be made on a case-by-case basis by the Archives staff. Do not separate material you wish to have reproduced – please consult a staff member about the way you should identify material for photocopying.
  • The records and other materials do not circulate; they must remain in the Archives reading room.
  • Theft, destruction or mutilation of these materials is a crime.
  • The reference collection in the reading room is available for researcher access. Please do not re-shelve books after use.
  • The reading room computer is for archives reference only.
  • These materials are provided for reference use only. The patron agrees to publish no portion of them without the written permission of the copyright holder and the patron assumes sole responsibility for any infringement of the literary rights, copyrights, or other rights which pertain to these materials.
  • The patron agrees to give the department a copy of any publication which relies heavily upon its collections.
  • University records citations should follow this format:
    [Item description], Name of Collection, #collection number, University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives.
  • JSC History Collection records citations should follow this format:
    [Item description, Box number, Series Name], JSC History Collection, University of Houston-Clear Lake Archives
281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library