Banner Image

Find Film Resources: Basic Resources for Film & Film in History

 
Resources to find materials such as books and journal articles on topics in film/cinema.

What to use -- Article databases

Use these databases to locate articles on film topics.
It may be important to use search terms such as:
   film or cinem* or movies    
[Note in above: linking search terms with word -- or]

Note also that using the asterisk * will retrieve results with other forms of the word, i.e. cinema, cinematic, cinematographer.

Links for locating films online

It is important when going to look for films for viewing and for study to search in the library catalog. Many of the films that you may want to use could be on the shelf in the library. However, there are also sources for online access to films and parts of films. • The UHCL subscription to Films on Demand, database; YouTube and Google's video search mode; The Library of Congress and others.

Where to look

Lots of projects may involve using studies of films, filmmakers, cinema history, as well as finding and using films themselves. Tools on this page help clarify what to do to find what you need.
  
For:
Articles about film topics. Use several different UHCL journal databases. No one place is the right place to find what you need. The databases listed on the left are important. Databases in the social sciences, art (and film), humanities, literature, history, women's studies, multidisciplinary coverage, or even specialties such as education. They all have potential to support your paper.
Want articles from film-specific journals? Go to the Art Full Text and MLA Bibliography databases.
 
Want articles about film in culture and history? Go to several databases: SocINDEX; Academic Search Complete; JSTOR; ProjectMUSE; America History & Life; as well as Art Full Text and MLA.
 
Books on your topic. Use the library catalog, but also other powerful gateways to books such as:  • Google Books • Reference lists • Book review sources (see the database, Book Review Index Plus at left) • WorldCat database, which searches listings of books in thousands of ibraries.
 
Films available for study or for discussion in papers and class presentations. There are several places to locate actual films to use. Those include a UHCL database that makes films available for use at any time • (Films on Demand) • dvd (and videotape) copies of films in the library • a request form to request other films that the library does not have on hand • and films that are free on the Internet, often to be found through YouTube or Google video search.

On the Shelf at UHCL

Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider
Privacy divider UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus
281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library