Places to start for research in environmental science.
Welcome to the library's research guide for Environmental Science. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
Search peer-reviewed journals, books, conference proceedings, etc. on a variety of topics, including air pollution, environmental chemistry, and environmental risk assessment.
- Environment Complete
Coverage in journals and monographs includes agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, pollution, and affiliated areas of study.
- Environment Abstracts
(1980- ) Selected full text of the impact of humankind and technology on the environment. Full text of selected documents (1980 -present) are also available in UHCL Envirofiche Collection (microfiche area GF1 .E55). Updated bi-weekly.
- Web of Science (multidisciplinary)
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®. Indexes more than 9,000 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. Selected full text via ArticleLinker.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases.
Sax’s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (12th edition)
Richard J. Lewis, Sr.
A primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. It contains approximately 28,000 substances and extensive data on toxicology, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability (10 vols)
A peer-reviewed resource on sustainability that connects academic research to real-world challenges and provides a balanced, trustworthy perspective on global environmental issues in the 21st century.
Click Background Information tab above for links to individual volumes.