Useful resources for research in Software Engineering
- Get Started on an Assignment
Tips on understanding assignments, choosing topics, sources for finding overviews and background information, etc.
- Search Strategy
How to create effective searches for use in the Library Catalog and research databases
- Find Books
Includes tips for using the Library Catalog plus resources for understanding call numbers and recognizing citations
- Find Articles
Advice and resources for finding articles in research databases, accessing full text, and recognizing citations
- Evaluating Information Sources Guide
Resources to help you critically evaluate the credibility of information sources
- About the Library
Must-have information about where we're located, your library card and account, and more
Welcome to the library's research guide for Software Engineering. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
(1950- ) Selected full text of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Institution of Engineering and Technology journals, and active IEEE standards.
(1969 - ) IEE's (Institution of Electrical Engineers) selected full text to the world's scientific and technical information.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Selected full text for ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
- Access Science
Links to primary research material, videos and animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for all major scientific disciplines.
- Applied Science & Technology Source
(1909- ) Selected full text for English-language journals, reports, conference papers, etc., in engineering, acoustics, chemistry, computers, metallurgy, physics, plastics, telecommunications, transportation, waste management, and more
- Web of Science (multidisciplinary)
(1984- ) Results of searches can be sorted by times cited. Use Cited Reference search to find works that cite a specific source article or publication.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases.
- Forms for Students
Includes article and book request forms (for when you need something that we don't own or that isn't requestable in the Library Catalog)
- Services for Faculty