- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Selected full text for ACM journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and some co-sponsored publications
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library
(1950- ) Selected full text of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Institution of Engineering and Technology journals, and active IEEE standards.
- Business Source Complete
(1886- ) Selected full text for journals, industry reports, country reports, MarketLine company profiles, and more
- Ebrary (multidisciplinary)
Ebrary Academic Complete includes electronic books and maps of academic interest. Covers business, economics, computers, humanities, life & physical sciences, social & behavioral sciences, and technology.
- Books 24x7
Full text professional books and streaming videos about business, finance, accounting, marketing, computer science, hardware, web development, software engineering, and more
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
View at 1280x960 or higher; some require Adobe Flash Player.
Finding Scholarly Articles on Your Topic:
If you can’t access a library resource
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline* [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training [finds both terms]
Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles [excludes records that include poodles]
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials. Don't have your ID card yet? Present a copy of your fee slip and a photo ID for a first-time exception.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.