Library resources for research and study in Criminology
Welcome to the library's research guide for Criminology. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!
Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials.
Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456).
If you're not sure where to begin or can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian for advice on the best resources for your needs.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Index and some full-text to peer-reviewed articles in hundreds of journals in criminal justice and criminology
- Criminology: SAGE Journals
Peer reviewed journal articles on such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
- Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary)
Includes articles from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines from multiple disciplines, such as history, sociology, criminology, economics, and the natural sciences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Selected full text for over 860 journals in sociology and related areas of history, anthropology, criminology, social work, political science, psychology, and law
- Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
"critical thinking" AND ("higher education" OR college*)
Select limiters (articles from scholarly publications, etc.) on results screen.
- Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with Databases A-Z or a relevant subject guide.
- Databases A-Z
A complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number.
- Research Guides by Subject
Find recommended databases, books, media, websites, and more, organized by subject (Accounting, Anthropology, Art, etc.) and created by UHCL librarians.
- Journals List UHCL
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on paper or microfilm copies in the library.
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
cat or cats or feline* [finds cat, cats, feline, or felines]
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
dogs and obedience training [finds both terms]
Find less with NOT:
toys not poodles [excludes records that include poodles]
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).