Database Access: General Information

Basic Access Information

On-campus database access

  • from any computer with Internet access
  • from your laptop or Mac using the UHCL wireless network
  1. Go to the Neumann Library Databases A-Z list or to any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database

Off-campus database access

  1. Go to the library Databases page or any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database. You will see a patron authentication window.
  3. Enter your campus & Blackboard username.
    1. Students: jonest1234
    2. Faculty: smith
  4. Enter your campus & Blackboard password.

For username/password assistance, call 281-283-2828

NOTE: If your login does not work, do not try again more than once. Multiple tries will lock you out of the databases. If this happens, call 281-283-3910, text to 281-816-4341, or chat with a librarian during Research Consultation hours.

On-campus database access

  • from any computer with Internet access
  • from your laptop or Mac using the UHCL wireless network
  1. Go to the Neumann Library Databases A-Z list or to any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database

Off-campus database access

  1. Go to the library Databases page or any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database. You will see a patron authentication window.
  3. Enter your UHCL computer username. Example: smith
  4. Enter your UHCL computer password.

For username/password assistance, call 281-283-2828

NOTE: If your login does not work, do not try again more than once. Multiple tries will lock you out of the databases. If this happens, call 281-283-3910, text to 281-816-4341, or chat with a librarian during Research Consultation hours.

On-campus database access is available for retired UHCL faculty

  • from any computer with Internet access
  • from your laptop or Mac using the UHCL wireless network
  1. Go to the Neumann Library Databases A-Z list or to any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database

Off-campus database access is available for retired UHCL faculty

  1. Go to the library Databases page or any Research Guide
  2. Click on the name of the database. You will see a patron authentication window.
  3. Enter your UHCL computer username. Example: smith
  4. Enter your UHCL computer password.

For username/password assistance, call 281-283-2828

NOTE: If your login does not work, do not try again more than once. Multiple tries will lock you out of the databases. If this happens, call 281-283-3910, text to 281-816-4341, or chat with a librarian during Research Consultation hours.

On-campus access is available to anyone using a computer in the Neumann Library, or logged in to the UHCL wireless network.

Off-campus access is not available for alumni or retired staff

On campus access is available to anyone using a computer in the Neumann Library, or logged in to the UHCL wireless network.

Reason: licensing arrangements usually restrict off-campus access and use to current students, faculty, and staff.

UHCL Public Wireless Network

Open to everyone

Wi-Fi Network Name (SSID): UHCLPublic

No authentication is required; simply select the network on your device (laptop, tablet or smartphone).

  • Information transmitted over this public wireless network may be visible to other online users.
    • Entering passwords, credit card numbers, social security numbers, or other personal information is not recommended.
    • UHCL is not liable for the possible loss of private information transmitted over this public network.
  • UHCLPublic has limited internet access and may not allow you to do all internet-related activities, especially those which require access to specific ports.
  • Your use of this network is subject to the university's acceptable use policy.

UHCL Private Wireless Network

Open to UHCL students, faculty, and staff.

  • For all UHCL faculty and staff the login is UHCL\UserID and your password
  • For all students, the login is PCLAB\UserID and your password

Settings

  • SSID: UHCLPrivate
  • Authentication Method: WPA or WPA2-Enterprise (depending on availability on your Wi-Fi enabled device).
  • Data Encryption: TKIP or AES (AES is preferred.)
  • Other Settings: Uncheck box for validating the server certificate and do not authenticate using Windows login account or as guest.

Device Guides

Loading

Browsers

Some problems can be browser related. IE seems to have more problems than others.

Recommended browsers:

281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library