EndNote Download: Home

endnote

EndNote citation management software is available on the library's public computers. Students, faculty, and staff who wish to install and use EndNote on your PC, laptop, Mac can follow the instructions below. EndNote is also available on the web and as a free iPad app.

For installation, you will need to enter your UHCL user name (Students: jonest1234, Faculty: smith) and password to authenticate. To use EndNote, you must first install it on your computer. If you try to run it without installing, you will be prompted for a key code.

EndNote for Windows

  1. If you have a trial version, uninstall it
  2. Make sure that no Microsoft Office programs are running
  3. Create a new folder on your computer to hold these files
  4. Click each link below, and then log in with your UHCL user name and password
  5. Select save, and choose the new folder as the place to put the file
  6. Make sure the license file name is just license.dat without any other characters
  7. Double-click the ENX7Inst.msi installation file on your computer to install EndNote

Installation Troubleshooting

If installation hangs when it tries to install Direct Export Helper, please follow these steps:

  1. Launch the EndNote installer.
  2. When asked to do a typical or custom installation, choose custom.
  3. On the screen where you choose which features to install, there is a check box at the bottom that says 'Install Direct Export Helper'. Make sure that this is not checked.
  4. Finish the installation as you normally would.
  5. Go to C:\Program Files\EndNote X7
  6. Run risxtd.exe.

This is the installer for Direct Export Helper. It should complete quickly and without any issues.

Add Additional Styles

Using the EndNote Style Finder

  1. In the Publisher field, search for the name of the style publisher (examples: MLA, CSE)
  2. Click the name of the style
  3. Scroll down and click the Download button

Installing the style into EndNote:

  1. Browse to the location where you downloaded the style
  2. Double-click the style file to open it. It should open in the EndNote program
  3. In EndNote, go to the File Menu and choose Save as
  4. Remove the word "copy" from the end of your style's name, and then click the Save button
  5. Click the down arrow to display the style dropdown list
  6. Click select another style
  7. Click the style name to add it to the dropdown list

Add All Styles

With Windows XP

  1. go to Control Panel, Add or Remove Programs
  2. select EndNote and Choose Change
  3. select the Modify Option and choose Next

With Windows Vista / 7:

  1. go to Control Panel, Programs and Features
  2. select EndNote and Choose Change
  3. select the Modify Option and choose Next
  4. Place a check next to Additional Styles and choose Will be installed on local hard drive.  Click the plus sign to select only specific styles. 
  5. Click Next

If you have any questions about using EndNote, please contact a librarian.

EndNote is a software program to store and manage bibliographic citations. Using EndNote, you can

  • import citations from article databases and organize them by topic or assignment
  • format citations in several dozen bibliographic styles, including APA and MLA
  • install the EndNote plug-in to Microsoft Word to automatically insert citations and create a bibliography

The Cite While You Write Plug-In for Microsoft Word connects to your EndNote Library and allows you to insert citations and format a bibliography according to a citation style (e.g. APA, MLA)

Loading

EndNote for Mac and iPad

The EndNote X7 installer for Mac download is unavailable due to macOS Sierra (10.12) compatibility issue. Please bring your Mac to Research Consultation Desk in Neumann Library, and we will install it for you. 

Add Additional Styles

Using the EndNote Style Finder

  1. In the Publisher field, search for the name of the style publisher (examples: MLA, CSE)
  2. Click the name of the style
  3. Scroll down and click the Download button

Installing the style into EndNote:

  1. Using Macintosh Finder, browse to the location where you downloaded the style.
  2. Double-click the style file to open it. It should open in the EndNote program.
  3. In EndNote, go to the File Menu and choose Save as.
  4. Remove the word "copy" from the end of your style's name, and then click the Save button.
  5. Click the down arrow to display the style dropdown list
  6. Click select another style
  7. Click the style name to add it to the dropdown list

Add All Styles

  1. Start EndNote
  2. Go to the EndNote menu and choose Customizer.
  3. To install all styles, place a check next to Output Styles. Alternately, you can expand the Styles drop down and check only the disciplines that are of interest to you.
  4. Click Next twice until the changes are complete.
  5. Click Done to close the window.

Get the free EndNote app for the iPad.

If you have any questions about using EndNote, please contact a librarian.

EndNote is a software program to store and manage bibliographic citations. Using EndNote, you can

  • import citations from article databases and organize them by topic or assignment
  • format citations in several dozen bibliographic styles, including APA and MLA
  • install the EndNote plug-in to Microsoft Word to automatically insert citations and create a bibliography
Loading
281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library