This is the "Home
 " page of the "Dictionaries and Quick Facts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uhcl.edu/facts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the library's list of online Dictionaries and other sources for Quick Facts. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We hope to hear from you!

 

Can't Connect?

If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.

 

ID & Barcode Basics

Use your UHCL ID card to borrow books and other materials. Don't have your ID card yet? Present a copy of your fee slip and a photo ID for a first-time exception.

Your library barcode number is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.

 

image

Key Resources

Here are a few places to start. Look under the tabs above for more.

  • Dictionary.com
    Answers from American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary, WordNet, The Free On-line dictionary of Computing, Jargon File, CIA World Factbook, Easton's 1897 bible Dictionary, Hitchcock's bible Names Dictionary, and the U.S. Gazetteer.
  • Britannica
    Full text academic edition of Encyclopedia Britannica; includes video and audio clips
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Landmark historical resource that defines and illustrates through quotations the use of English language words from earliest known occurrence to present
  • Thesaurus.com
    Answers from Roget's New Millennium Thesaurus.
  • Bartleby.com Quotations
    Includes Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, Columbia World of Quotations, Simpson's Contemporary Quotations, and Respectfully Quoted: A Dictionary of Quotations
 

Please Give Us Your Opinion




Accessibility divider Best Viewed divider Clery Act divider Compact with Texans divider Emergency Information divider Maps & Directions divider Privacy
UH System divider Public Information divider Fraud Reporting divider MySafeCampus pargo1.uhcl.edu
281-283-3910   library@uhcl.edu    UHCL Neumann Library   UHCL Pearland Campus Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip