Welcome

The Alfred R. Neumann Library is a Federal Depository Library for selected U.S. government publications (since 1980) and a Texas Depository Library for Texas state publications (1988-2011). As a depository library we welcome the general public as well as our UHCL community.
Locate federal and state government publications on the first level of the library, in the reference and general collections, in microfiche and CD-ROM, and on the Web.
Find Government Publications
- Library Catalog Advanced Keyword SearchLimit a keyword search to UHCL and subcollection "U.S. Documents" or "TX Documents" to find government publications in the libray. Use the title search when you are looking for a specific document.
- Catalog of Government PublicationsFree public online access to records of U. S. government publications, 1996 to present, with links to electronic editions and depository libraries holdings information. Updated daily.
- U.S. Government BookstoreIndexes all the government information products that are available for sale. Forthcoming and out-of-print titles are also included. Updated daily.
- ProQuest Congressional
Brings together information published by and about Congress. - ProQuest Statistical InsightIncludes American Statistics Index (ASI) (indexing 1973 -present; full text 2004 to present), Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (indexing 1980 to present; full text 2007 to present), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) (indexing 1980 to present; full text 2007 to present).
- ERICIncludes many federal and state government publications relating to education.
- Search NTIS (National Technical Information Service)Contains references to technical publications, datafiles, CD-ROMs, and audiovisual materials added to the NTIS collection within the last ten years. Documents and products can be ordered online for a fee.
- Texas State PublicationsMonthly index of Texas documents received and cataloged at the Texas State Library. Each calendar year the monthly issues are combined into a single annual index. The monthly issues available here are in PDF format. 2002 to 2010.
- Texas State Publications Annual Index1994 to 2004.
General Information
Most government documents may be checked out at the Circulation Desk for a three-week loan. In addition to UHCL ID cards, the Neumann Library honors all TexShare Cards, UHCL Affiliate Borrower cards, UH system ID cards, and JSC identification cards.
Internet access for government publications is provided by 35 public-access computers.
During regular semester hours, Reference help is available Monday-Thursday 8:00 am to 9:00 p.m., Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and Sunday 1:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. For complete information about library hours, click on "Hours" under "Quick Links" on the library homepage.
Find Government Websites
- Federal Digital System (FDsys)GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information submitted by Congress and federal agencies.
- USA.govU.S. government's official web portal makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.
- GovSpotGovSpot.com is a non-partisan government information portal for finding federal and state government web sites.
- Texas.govThe official website of the state of Texas.
- TRAIL: Texas Records and Information LocatorTRAIL searches and locates information collected in an archive of more than 180 Texas state agency web servers.
Popular Government Websites
- American Fact FinderU.S. Census and American Community Survey data.
- IRS Forms & PublicationsView, download, or order the forms, schedules, and instructions needed for filing a paper income tax return.
- Who Represents Me?Find your districts, U.S. senators, U.S. representative, Texas state senator and representaive, and Texas State Board of Education member.
- Congressional Record (daily)
- Federal Register
- THOMASU.S. legislative information online.
- CIA World Factbook
- Google Patent Search
- Texas Legislature Online
U.S. Government Printing Office: Official. Digital. Secure
Easy as FDL

In the News
As of July 2011, the Texas State Depository Library Program was discontinued due to lack of state funding. The Neumann Library will retain its Texas publications collection.
Reference/Documents Librarian |
Contact Info Alfred R. Neumann Library University of Houston - Clear Lake 2700 Bay Area Blvd., Box 229 Houston, TX 77058 281-283-3914 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
