Welcome
Welcome to the library's research guide for Legal Research. We hope this guide will help you discover and use the wealth of information resources provided by the library. Librarians can assist you further, also. We wish you well in your studies and hope to hear from you!

Library Barcode
Your library barcode is "200" and the seven digits of your UHCL ID number (example: 2000987456). Find your barcode number on the back of your ID card, or find your ID number on your fee slip.
Can't Connect?
If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.
Basic Search Tips for Most Catalogs and Databases
Find more (broaden your results) with OR and wildcards:
laws or statutes
law* or statute*
Find less (narrow your results) with AND:
statutes and Texas
Find less with NOT:
laws not bills
Find less by selecting limiters (peer-reviewed, date, etc.).
Please Give Us Your Opinion
How to Use This Guide
Find general tips and resources on the "Home" page. Select a different page tab for more detailed assistance and resources for specific information formats or needs.
Consult the following Neumann Library Research Guide for additional information and resources:
Key Resources for Legal Research
- Westlaw Campus Research
Provides access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register (July, 1980-present), state statutes and administrative codes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR), and more than 900 law journals and reviews. It also contains full-text articles from several major newspapers. - LexisNexis Academic
Is a subset of the most popular files in the Lexis-Nexis databases collection. It provides a wide range of (mostly) fulltext news, business, legal and government sources. Also included are reference directories, medical and health resources, and biographical information. - Texas Law LibraryContains 22 significant titles for researching Texas law and legal practice, including such titles as Dorsaneo's Texas Litigation Guide, the Texas Transaction Guide, Texas Civil Trial Guide, Texas Codes & Constitution, Texas Criminal Practice Guide, Texas Family Law Reporter.
General Resources
- Library Catalog Find books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, government publications, whether the library has a particular serial (journal, magazine, or newspaper), and more. If you need articles on a topic, start instead with a research database such as Academic Search Complete.
- Databases A-ZA complete list of the library's subscription research databases and selected free web databases. Identify journal articles and more in Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, ERIC, JSTOR, etc. If off-campus, you'll be prompted to authenticate with your name and library barcode number. If you have difficulties, please contact us.
- Journals List
Check if the library has a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper online, or browse available serials by subject category. Follow Library Catalog links, if provided, for information on available paper or microfilm copies in the library.
Library Services for...
Online Help
- How-To Guides(for library databases and resources)
- Library Research Video Tutorials
- Research Tips
- FAQ
Reference/Documents Librarian |
Contact Info Alfred R. Neumann Library University of Houston - Clear Lake 2700 Bay Area Blvd., Box 229 Houston, TX 77058 281-283-3914 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Library Liaison for Legal Studies |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Acknowledgements
Thanks to Rosemarie Romano, Public Services Librarian at Cayuga Community College in Auburn, New York, for her help on this guide.


Loading...
