What is a Primary Source?

Primary sources are "fundamental, authoritative documents relating to a subject, ...e.g., original records, contemporary documents, etc." (Young, Heartsill, ed. The ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science. Chicago: American Library Association, 1983, p.176). Primary source documents are first-hand accounts by a direct participant or witness and may include letters, diaries, interviews, photographs, films, maps, government documents, field notes, and more.
Primary sources generally are uninterpreted. Analysis and context may be provided in secondary source books and journal articles. For the sciences, however, primary sources also include the original account of a research study, typically published as an article in a scholarly journal. Find a fuller explanation of science sources in the SUNY Albany resource below.
For the arts, history, and humanities, original primary source documents usually are housed in museums, archives, restricted library collections, and government offices. Reproductions of primary source documents often can be found in online digital collections, microform collections, books, and other secondary works.
- Primary and Secondary Sources for ScienceUniversity Libraries, SUNY Albany
- Using Primary Sources on the WebInstruction and Research Services Committee, History Section, Reference and User Services Association, American Library Association. Tips for locating, evaluating, and citing primary sources found on the Web.
- Finding Historical Primary SourcesThe Library, University of California, Berkeley. Includes search strategies for different types of primary sources and for names, topic, dates, or specific title.
- Evaluating Information Sources: Primary SourcesNeumann Library research guide
Special Collections on Microform
Descriptive guides are available for most microform collections at Index Reference shelf 13. The Library Catalog also includes records for documents found in the following collections:
- American Culture Series
- History of Women
- Human Relations Area Files
- Slavery Source Materials
Selected newspaper indexes can be found at Index Reference shelf 11.
Selected Primary Source Databases and Collections
Additional primary source collections can be found on relevant subject guides and webpages, including History and Women's Studies.
- American Memory CollectionLibrary of Congress
- American Periodicals
(1740-1940 initial publication date) - American State Papers
(1789-1838) See also U.S. Congressional Serial Set. - Early Republic
(1789-1791) - Eisenhower Papers
Electronic edition of the 21-volume Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press) - Heritage Quest OnineIncludes ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Collection of 25,000+ family and local history books and the complete U.S. Federal Census, 1790-1930, including page images and corresponding indexes.
- Houston Oral History Project"A collaboration among the Mayor’s Office, the Houston Public Library and the University of Houston"
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
(1851-2008) - Texas TreasuresTexas State Library and Archives Division
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
(1817-1980) See also American State Papers. - U.S. Historical Census Browser(1790-1960)
- Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
(1889-1995) - Women and Social Movements in the United States(1600-2000) Includes documents related to significant social movements involving women’s issues and/or women as motivators. Also a good place to find ideas about the study of women’s issues, background material, a structure of the historical connections, and up-to-date book reviews relevant to these issues. WB
Relevant Database Limiters
In addition to the example shown below, check database document type limiters for relevant categories such as speech or interview.

Can't Connect?
If you can’t access a library resource, please contact us. Call 281-283-3910, or see Ask a Librarian.


Loading...
