Searching ProQuest Databases: Home

About ProQuest Databases

ProQuest databases cover a variety of subjects and include Alt-Press Watch, American Periodicals (historical), Dissertations & Theses (Global and @UHCL), Environment Abstracts, New York Times (historical), Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and others. Types of publications, dates of coverage, limiters, other search features, and whether there is immediate full text vary by database.

Instructions for Advanced Search Screen

Advanced Search usually is the default search method.

  1. Click the person icon in the ProQuest task bar at the top of the page to create a personal My Research account for saving articles, searches, etc.
  2. To search more than one ProQuest database at a time, click on All Databases, a subset link, or Change Databases, and follow onscreen instructions.
  3. Enter terms in the text entry search boxes on the left of the page. If more than box is used, use the drop-down menu below the first search box to connect the boxes with the operator AND, OR, or NOT. The default connector is AND.
  4. If desired, use the drop-down menu to the right of each text entry box to specify fields (author, document title, subject terms, abstract, etc.) where terms should be found. If needed, click Look up Subjects to identify and select terms.
  5. Narrow your results by selecting one or more limiters such as peer reviewed, scholarly journals, publication date, source type, document type, or language. Publication date choices include last 7 days, last 30 days, etc., or a specified date or date range. Caution: Using the Full Text limiter, when provided, will exclude full text available from another source.
  6. Click a Search button. One is located in the middle of the page on the right side, and one is located at the bottom right of the page.
  7. If desired, select one or more limiters in the Narrow Results panel on the left of the results page. Expand a limiter category to see choices.
  8. To export or save one or more records to a personal My Research account, first mark the adjacent box(es), then click Save, and follow on-screen instructions.
  9. Click Preview at the bottom right of an entry to see an abstract and subject terms for that record.
  10. If a full text link is not provided, click on Find It @ UHCL to check for possible full text from another source. If an article isn't found online, there will be a link to submit an article request.
  11. Click on a document title to view the full record.
  12. In this sample full record view, click the desired tab for full text in either HTML or PDF.
  13. Click tab to view a list of references cited in this article.
  14. If using the Cite tool to view a specific citation style such as APA or MLA, proof read the citation carefully before including it in your work.
  15. Click a desired output (Download PDF, Print, Save, etc.), and follow onscreen instructions.
  16. If desired, view more recent articles that have cited this one and related documents with shared references.
  17. If desired, start a new search with indexing terms, which appear in the right panel or in details below the abstract.
  18. For more information, click the onscreen help icon at the right of the ProQuest task bar at the top of the page, or consult a research librarian.

Advanced Search Tips

  • Type Boolean or logical operators/connectors, proximity operators, and wildcard symbols directly into a search box.
  • The operator "and" narrows results. Example: company and merger finds both words in the same record.
  • The operator "or" broadens results. Example: teacher or instructor finds either word.
  • The operator "not" narrows results. Example: fraud not embezzlement finds fraud only if the word embezzlement is absent.
  • Use quotation marks to find an exact phrase. Example: "domestic violence" finds the exact phrase domestic violence.
  • Use proximity operator "near/" immediately followed by a number to find words that are close to each other in any order. Example: human near/5 cloning the words within 5 words of each other, either word can appear first.
  • Use proximity operator "pre/" immediately followed by a number to find words that are close to each other in a specific order. Example: human pre/3 cloning finds the words within 3 words of each other, and human appears first.
  • Use the * (asterisk) multi-character wildcard to broaden results by finding words that start with the same letters. Example: ethic* finds ethic, ethics, ethically, etc.
  • Use the ? (question mark) single-character wildcard to find variant spellings where one letter changes. Example: wom?n finds woman or women.

Images from Sociological Abstracts

Illustration of Sociological Abstracts advanced search screen that shows a search for same sex marriage in the subject heading (all) field and belief* or attitude* or opinion* with wildcards

 

Illustration of search results list display

 

Illustration of a full record

Illustration of Proquest task bar

281-283-3910    library@uhcl.edu   UHCL Neumann Library    UHCL Pearland Campus Library